Fasting for the day

Go down

Fasting for the day

Post by Starkanda on Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:43 pm

One thing I want to start committing to is a fast a few times a year, and do them at the start of the seasons, just kind of a gut reset (got the idea from Dr. Perlmutter's book Brain Maker if that helps)/time for thoughtfulness, etc. Winter Solstice is coming, and I am planning a water/tea/broth fast for the day. Does anyone have any experience to share, or advice for me to prepare, best choices to break the fast, etc. I did attempt a full day fast once, and was ravenous by the afternoon and ate a pear. But I was eating SAD at the time and didn't include anything besides water. I am confident that this go around will be better, but I'd still like to prepare. Thoughts?

Starkanda

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Fasting for the day

Post by RedComet on Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:12 am

I'll start by saying I'm not a doctor and I'm not qualified to give medical advice. What follows is simply based on my own personal experiences and you shouldn't try it at home without first consulting your doctor.

In my opinion the best thing you can do to prepare for a 24-hour fast is to practice intermittent fasting in the days leading up to it. Start by going about 12 hours between meals. For most people, that's eating a late breakfast. Then up it to sixteen hours, which is pretty much like skipping breakfast altogether. Work yourself up another few hours and you're practically there. It will take discipline, but if you can avoid temptations and get your system primed with shorter fasts beforehand, you should be able to handle it.

Purists will suggest you only drink water. That's fine. In my book, drinking black coffee or unsweetened tea in moderation is acceptable, and may even boost the health benefits of the fast.